21 Things I’ve Learned Throughout My Spiritual Journey

Since starting my journey two and half years ago after having my spiritual awakening experience (which you can read about here), I have learned so much about myself. And last month I turned 21. So for this week, I decided to list 21 things I’ve learned in my spiritual journey so far.

  1. Everything takes time.  
  • I felt bad for myself for a long time because my progress was slow. One of the biggest takeaways from this journey is that everything happens when its supposed to. I got impatient and frustrated at times but by learning this, its really helped me with having patience and trusting the Universe with the timeline of how everything is revealing itself.

2.   We are all doing the best we can at the given moment.

  • If you are like me, anytime I think of a better way I could’ve handled a situation, I tend to feel ashamed of the way I handled it originally. But what I had to understand through reflecting on the actions of myself and others is that we are all doing the best we can with the ways we know how even if its destructive. That doesn’t mean that we allow toxic behavior to show up in ourselves or other people, but we have to learn to see the other perspective and understand that we show that aspect in ourselves too.

 

3. You are your first priority.

  • Before my awakening, I was always giving and giving because I thought that was the right thing to do. I was taught from an early age to put others first because that was good. And because of that, as I found out during the period where I started my spiritual journey, I realized that I neglecting my health and the series of breakdowns and anxiety attacks followed. You are your first priority. Before you can help others, you have to help yourself. Don’t feel guilty when you need alone time or you need regroup. Realize that you can’t minimize yourself to other people and that your health and wellbeing should be at the top of your priority list.

 

4. You set your own expectations.

  • The main reason why I suffered so much during the time I was experiencing my spiritual awakening was because I was subordinating to expectations that didn’t resonate with me. We are all here on Earth for a unique purpose. But most won’t reach their full potential because of the standards instilled in them by parents, peers, and society. And we take them in because we think that’s what everyone is doing. I’m not saying that all of them are bad, because many are important for the foundation of society, but the minute we compromise our passions to an idea that is “safe” or “secure” because our parents, teachers, or peers said so, we’re denying our innate talents and skills, moving further and further away from our life purpose. For some, this triggers depression and dysfunction later in their lives and feel as though something is missing.

 

5.  See the beauty around madness.

  • When I hit a series of rock bottoms, I couldn’t help but think about all the negatives around the situations I went through. And with time, I would reflect on the positives and negatives around the circumstances on my process of moving forward. Now, when I do confront a situation that is unpleasant, I look at the positives and negatives and make sure they balanced. Some of the biggest breakdowns lead to a greater breakthrough.

 

6. Honor your emotions.

  • I used to repress my emotions because I had other important things to think about. Because of that, I created an imbalance which attracted more situations in which I needed to bring these emotions into the light. Your emotions demand to be felt. Embrace and nurture what you are body is telling you.

 

7. Pursue your passions.

  • Your life purpose is found in whatever you are most passionate about. Life is too short for you to be living under someone else’s dream. By identifying the things that I love, I felt inspired to follow my passions which includes writing this blog.

 

8. We are surrounded with synchronicity.

  • Everything in this world is in harmony. Whether it is good or bad, it revolves arounds the balance of the Universe. I’ve experienced circumstances that I would describe as “coincidental” but really its the Universe manifesting your desires and beliefs. Recognize that the Universe will send messages to you through people, places, or things.

 

9. Life consists of duality.

  • The good and bad events in our lives are a product of the law of duality. In order to become balanced, we must experience situations of the opposite to gain appreciation and perspective.

 

10. Release attachments.

  • I used to attach myself to the mistakes that I made in the past as well as through other things. With time, I learned to release attachments to expectations and superficial things that I thought would bring importance to my life. Now, I learned to detach myself and let whatever comes flow.

 

11. There is always a root cause.

  • When I look back at all the events starting from childhood to when I was 19, I discovered a re-occuring theme showing up in unpleasant circumstances. And it took another event which was more severe to realize the mechanisms for coping. There is aways a root cause for various situations with similar themes. By doing an extensive reflection, I was able to position myself in moving forward.

 

12. Create a self care routine.

  • During the beginning of my spiritual journey, for me to be able to cope with the emotions I was feeling it was vital that I create a self care routine. This is a practice I implement so that I can rejuvenate my energy and frustrations I may be dealing with at the time.

 

13. Seek out knowledge

  • I didn’t even know that I had went through a spiritual awakening two and half years ago until recently. To understand the journey, I sought out books and documentaries to figure out why I was feeling the emotions I did. I started gravitating toward metaphysical books and teachings and its really helped me with understanding what I’ve went through. Seeking out information is so important in your spiritual journey. Without it, I wasn’t able to make sense of what was happening to me.

 

14. Speak your truth.

  •  I feel like I’ve been in so many situations where I’ve had to stand up for my truth. But this lesson is so important. Everyone’s truth may look different but we have to acknowledge and embrace our own experiences. This is more important than what people will think of you. If you feel compelled, speak your truth.

 

15. Explore.

  • I’ve learned not to be afraid to explore. In this stage of my spiritual journey, I’m still trying to figure myself out. Listen to your intuition if you feel a nudge to learn a new skill, watch a new TV show, or try out a new activity. You never know where that will lead you.

 

16. Surround yourself with people who love and support you.

  • By surrounding myself with people who are like-minded, it opens the door for collaboration and support. Find people who genuinely love you for you. If you currently have a friend group, reflect and ask yourself if they support your goals and if they spread positivity. This is important for your wellbeing.

 

17. Be present.

  • There is power in being present. Take the time to enjoy your surroundings. Unplug for a little bit and take advantage of what nature has given us.

 

18. Be compassionate.

  • You never know what someone is going through. After my awakening experience, my sensitivity was heightened. Be more empathetic and compassionate towards others. We are all fighting battles every single day.

 

19. Instant gratification doesn’t mean contentment.

  • I’ve learned to stop chasing short term happiness. Some things take time. Take everything day by day and understand that the desired destination will take time. Utilizing shiny toys and possessions as a means to be happy will only last for so long.

 

20. Choose faith over fear.

  • This is something that I’m still working through. Although it may seem that your world may be crashing down right in front of your eyes, have faith that everything will soon work out. We may not understand the meaning of it in the beginning, but it reveal itself overtime as a stepping stone towards something greater.

 

21. Focus on what you can control.

  • Someone or something isn’t worthy of our reaction. If someone treats you badly, don’t give them anymore attention. You may not be able to control what someone says or does to you, but you can always control your reaction to it.

 

I hope you took way some value from the 21 things I’ve learned this far. If you have gone through anything similar to what I’ve just explained, I would love to hear about it! Feel free to fill out the form on my contact page which you can find here. And as always, if you resonate with the content, please subscribe to receive weekly posts. I hope you have a great rest of the week.

-YourHigherSelf

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “21 Things I’ve Learned Throughout My Spiritual Journey

Leave a Reply

